State Of Ohio Sex Offender Search
As a result of House Bill 180 (Megan's Law), sex offenders are required to register with the county in which they reside. Any person who is found to be a sexual predator, habitual sex offender, or sexual oriented offender and resides in Madison County must register with the Madison County Sheriff's Office.
Because of House Bill 180, the Madison County Sheriff's Office is required to make sure those individuals are registered with their office and to establish a community notification process for all sexual predators and habitual sex offenders.
We feel it is important for the citizens to understand the above classifications. They are as follows:
SEXUAL ORIENTED OFFENDER: Anyone convicted of or pleads guilty to committing a sexually oriented offense as defined in Ohio Revised Code number 2950.01, which includes rape, sexual battery, gross sexual imposition, regardless of the age of the victim. Some other offenses include kidnapping, abduction, unlawful restraint, criminal child enticement, corruption of a minor, compelling prostitution, endangering children (victim under 18 years of age), pandering obscenity, minor pandering sexually oriented material, illegal use of minor in nudity-oriented material/perform. Sex offenders must register with this office once a year for ten years.
HABITUAL SEXUAL OFFENDER: Any person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a sexually oriented offense and who previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to one or more sexually oriented offenses. Habitual Sex Offenders must register with the sheriff's office once a year for 20 years. If a judge so rules, community notification may occur. The offender must return to the sheriff's office in one year to verify his/her address.
SEXUAL PREDATOR: Any person who has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to committing a sexually oriented offense and is likely to engage in the future in one or more sexually oriented offenses. Sexual Predators must register with the sheriff's office every 90 days for life. The Sheriff's Office will also require a vehicle license plate number, and will also verify the home address of an offender within seven days of registering with the office. Community notification will occur with every sexual predator.